Events‎ > ‎

PZS Schedule

Planetarians' Zoom Seminar Schedule

Planetarians' Zoom Seminars (PZSs) are usually on the last Friday of the month. As of February 2020, we are trying out a new time: 2 pm Pacific, 3 pm Mountain, 4 pm Central, 5 pm Eastern. They are recorded and archived. For connection URL, see the PZS Connection page.

  • 28 February 2020 at 2 pm PST (10 pm UT) Planetarians' Zoom Seminar
    Dr. Luisa Rebull and Geoff Holt will give a presentation and lead discussion on
    NITARP: Astronomy Research Experience for Astronomy Educators. NITARP (NASA/IPAC Teacher Archive Research Program) aims to give educators first-hand experience doing authentic astronomy research. Planetarians who have participated in the program have described it as an amazing professional development experience that has had major impacts on their teaching. The director of the program, Dr. Luisa Rebull, will give an overview of the program and provide details on when and how to apply, and planetarian, Geoff Holt, will share his recent experience participating on a NITARP research team in 2019. About the presenters: Dr. Luisa Rebull is NITARP Director, Caltech, Pasadena, California. Geoff Holt is Planetarium Director, Madison Metropolitan School District Planetarium, Madison, Wisconsin.

  • 27 March 2020 at 2 pm PST (10 pm UT) Planetarians' Zoom Seminar
    Renae Kerrigan, Shannon Schmol, Tiffany Wolbrecht will give a presentation and lead discussion on
    Big Astronomy: (Nearly) Free Show and Great Resources. When we think of big astronomy, we think of big telescopes. But PEOPLE enable discoveries." Big Astronomy is a National Science Foundation funded project to explore the Dome+ model – a planetarium show distributed for a minimal fee in both English and Spanish along with a website that hosts resources and live programs to extend learning beyond the dome. Research on the effectiveness of this method will be carried out by Michigan State University. Learn more about the project and the resources that will be available to your planetarium in this presentation. The presenters are: Renae Kerrigan, Planetarium Director at Peoria Riverfront Museum; Dr. Shannon Schmoll, Planetarium Director at Abrams Planetarium, Tiffany Stone Wolbrecht, Planetarium Lecturer at Ward Beecher Planetarium.

  • 29 May 2020 at 2 pm PST (10 pm UT) Planetarians' Zoom Seminar.
    Jeffrey Nee will give a presentation and lead discussion on
    NASA Working For Planetarians: the Museum Alliance. Want your own dedicated help line for all things NASA, space exploration, and STEAM education? The NASA Museum Alliance supports museums and planetariums around the world with professional development, custom resources, and personalized assistance with planetarium shows as well as interactive dome curriculum. Come ask how NASA can help you better engage audiences in your dome, and see how our tools can save your team time, money, and headaches. Jeffrey Nee is an Informal Education Specialist, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory.


Comments